top of page
Search
  • blp333project

Guitars and Hand Surgeries

Updated: Apr 9, 2022


Well, let's just say they don't go together like pork chops and apple sauce. Guitar and making music is my passion, my sanity and my creative outlet. I wanted to write this in hopes of motivating other guitar players and musicians. Those that may have medical issues and physical limitations which make playing the instruments they love challenging.


I've had my share of surgeries which have all been on my left hand (fingers, thumb, wrist and palm.) My left hand is the hand that I use to fret chords and bend notes on the guitar. I've also had many injections over the years in my right/dominate hand and will eventually have to have surgery on it as well as my left hand... again. The conditions that lead to the surgeries were from Stenosing Tenosynovitis, De Quervain's Tendinosis, Arthritis and Dupuyntren's Contracture.


With each surgery I've had to go through Physical Therapy to regain strength and flexibility. Unfortunately these surgeries have left me with some permanent nerve damage, myopathy and ligament damage. All of this has made playing the guitar a challenge. Although I can no longer play some of things I used to be able to play, I continue to find new ways to compensate. These are some of the things I've tried that have helped me.


  • Find new ways to voice chords that are easier

  • Combine several chord voicings when recording

  • Using light gauge strings

  • Playing more frequently for shorter periods of time

  • Hand/Finger exercises for strength and flexibility

  • Hand/Finger stretches and massage for relief of pain

  • Lastly...Don't give up


I want to close by saying there are many players out there that have far worse medical conditions than I do. I'm in no way comparing my condition to theirs. But if you have a medical or physical challenge that's hindering you're ability to play the instrument that you love...don't give up! Even creating a simple melody of single notes is rewarding and satisfying.


Hang in there and keep doing what you love...

Take it Easy!





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Blog: Blog2
bottom of page